Japanese Washi Masking Tape

October 23, 2009


Items decorated with Washi tape.

Items decorated with Washi tape.

OH-OH!  I feel a new collection coming on… but masking tape?  Do I really need to collect masking tape?  Have you seen this tape?  It is actually Japanese Washi paper made into adhesive masking tape.  It’s gorgeous and brilliant!

Washi paper masking tape (6 rolls) in a special box! How could I resist?

Washi paper masking tape (6 rolls) in a special box! How could I resist?

I found some that I had to have on Etsy at Felt Cafe.  I didn’t realize that it would be shipped from Japan.  I got a 6 roll set in a lovely decorated box.

The washi tapes come in solids all across the rainbow, traditional Japanese washi patterns, plaids and more.

Gorgeous striped Washi masking tape.

Gorgeous striped Washi masking tape.

I can hear someone out there thinking: this woman has gone mad!  Nope.  It is actually a craft supply.  There are people out there that are figuring out uses for this tape this very minute.

So far I’ve seen pendants made with this tape, cool bottles and packages decorated with this tape and I’m sure there is much more to come.

The interesting thing about this tape is that some of it is semi-transparent.  There are also metallics and they’re gorgeous.

Old Vintage Book Washi tape!

Old Vintage Book Washi tape!

There is even text printed tape and collaged tape, too.

I can see custom decorating the solid color tapes with paint, rubber stamping, and actual collage. That would be cool.

I can also see using this tape in altered books, making new handbound books, jewelry, and collage.  Like I said: OH-OH! I feel a new collection coming on!  I don’t know what the Japanese are doing with it but I can’t wait to see.

Collage Washi tape.

Collage Washi tape.

Because this is a paper based tape you can write on it easily. It won’t smear or run like on the regular masking tape.  However, it does come with writing on it and collaged text like that at right.

These are pendants made out of the Washi masking tape. Aren't they cool?

These are pendants made out of the Washi masking tape. Aren't they cool?

I found these Washi tape pendants at:

http://craftapalooza.typepad.com/crafted/2009/09/washi-masking-tape-pendants.html

I love the variety and it gives me quite a few ideas.  Who knew that a simple thing like masking tape could be improved on?  It is indeed an amazing world.

6 Responses to “Japanese Washi Masking Tape”

  1. BARBARA KEANE said

    Hello – I am interested in buying masking tape and pendant. Thanks very much!

    • meredith11 said

      Hello! Yes the masking tape pendants are lovely aren’t they? I didn’t make them but the link provided in the blog will get you to the person that did. I hope that helps. Thanks for your message!

  2. nicole said

    hi, thanks for showing my washi pendants

  3. prettytape said

    Thanks for selecting my picture!

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/prettytape

  4. I just received some washi tape as a Christmas gift and am trying to find ideas for using it – thank you for sharing the uses you liked!

  5. Madoka said

    I am in love with these tapes. I can use them everywhere and on anything! I got mine from a store called “littlehappythings1” on Etsy. They are new, but their price is the best so far as I know and the owner is very sweet to deal with. If anyone is interested, you can check here:
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/littlehappythings1
    I have a boxful of tapes but I still can’t get enough of them!

Leave a comment