Making a Video!

November 11, 2014


I know I have been rather quiet of late… I am in the midst of my wonderful, new project: teaching online for Craftsy.com. I have been in the pre-production phase for many weeks now. What does that mean? It involves creating a 7 part video first. The video comes down to figuring out what is important to teach, how to say it and show it as well as creating the pieces that show the methods on the way to the end result in at least 3 steps plus the finished piece: so think 4 pieces for each 'chapter' or segment. Wow. That's busy!

We film the video next week! I'm so excited to do this! But here is what happens as an artist: cycles of pure confidence in what I know and can teach but then…a crises of confidence: consuming nervous anticipation that I'll be a total flub on camera. It's crazy. Where does this come from? I know what I know. I can only be me. They can edit, stop, start, reshoot, edit and did I mention EDIT? BREATHE! It'll be fun. REEEEALLLLY!

 
2 Responses to “Making a Video!”

  1. I am so excited for you, Meredith! All you need to do is let your knowledgeable, warm, and lovely self shine. You’ve been doing this successfully for years without the ability to edit or reshoot. Piece of cake! I look forward to seeing the final product.

    • meredith11 said

      Thank you Tonnie! You’re right. It’s just so funny to fight with this at this pont in my life. The fight or flight thing is strong. I think it’s been a long time since I’ve done something this much out of my comfort zone – especially in a way it’s preserved for all time. I’ve spent more time stressing about it than necessary, that’s for sure!
      Off to the studio to finish those pieces!

Leave a Reply

