I’m Never Where I Want to Be, Part 2

January 21, 2012


   With the way that I am I’ve found that usually wherever I am is where I want to be.  It’s the ‘getting there’ part that’s hard.  It may be because I have a lot of disruption in my life due to traveling to teach or I have an issue with transitions that I haven’t really looked at, I’m not sure.  However once I get to where I’m going I’m fine.  It could be I just hate to leave home…=)

  I’ve been working on just being glad I am here wherever that might be instead of looking at all the things I wish I were doing or could be.  In other words, there is a point to be made for just really looking at where you are and making the most of that.  Does this make sense?  It’s okay that your work isn’t earth shattering Monet level or on the lips of every person on the planet.

    The American culture has a preoccupation with being famous.  It’s obvious to me now that this comes back to seeing oneself as special.  If others see you as special then there’s the proof that you are.  But guess what?  You should know this without that external validation.  If you love your art then that’s enough.  So if you find yourself envying others that ‘seem’ more visible, become more visible to yourself.  The rest will follow.  I can tell you from experience that having people know your name in a random elevator is not a comfortable position to be in.  Think about it: you don’t know them but they ‘know’ you.  It’s actually disconcerting especially at night when away from home.  And what is it that these people ‘know’ about you anyway?  I mean really.  So understand that being known shouldn’t ever be a goal.  It’s so much better for your work to be what’s known, isn’t it?

One Response to “I’m Never Where I Want to Be, Part 2”

  1. That was really rather brilliant. I frequently visit Istanbul and one of the things I most enjoy is the attitude towards life. They do not have the North American neurosis about “being someone”. They live in the shadows of thousands of years of greatness and conquerors, cemeteries mix with tea houses and life continues. Greatness is an illusion. They judge you on your heart and who you are rather than what you do (big generalization but you get the point). To love you family and friends and enjoy what you do is a good life. Having the wisdom to appreciate it is the key. I’m so glad you are living your dreams, sincerely, D. (another polymer clay artist to the North)

Leave a Reply

