I’m Never Where I Want to Be, Part 1

January 20, 2012


  I had written a whole blog under this title when iPad crashed out and lost it…naughty iPad!  The title is actually a line from a Peter Gabriel song and it hit me like a ton of bricks…again.  This time it spoke to the constant striving I’ve been doing to get ‘there’, wherever ‘there’ is.  I asked myself: how do you know you’re ‘there’?  What if you’re ‘there’ and just don’t know it?  These seem like simple questions until you really start thinking about them.

  Some years ago I wished I were gainfully employed in the arts.  I wanted to be teaching artists, teaching my own art related classes, mentoring artists and making my own work.  I wanted my work in a gallery or two as well. 

  So I created programs to teach, made samples and pix of the samples, put together class descriptions, materials lists and pictures for proposals and sent them in to places I targeted.  I took on coordinating a 50 hour professional development program designed for artists for a college and the job of running a small art center part-time when that became available as well.  One day I realized that when I wasn’t In a classroom teaching or working on scheduling/growing the art center, I was putting together submissions for classes next quarter, next year, the next 4 shows, and so on.  I was working 24/7 or darn near to it as one could get.  I was blogging, keeping my website updated, juggling my scheduling, traveling, teaching and art center concerns.  This has gone on for a few years now and it was time to take stock.  What had I been doing?  Were we there yet?

  

  Fun artist’s website: http://www.fimp.net/index.html  

 

 

 

One Response to “I’m Never Where I Want to Be, Part 1”

  1. Nan Robkin said

    What if there’s no there there? Or what sort of there is there, if it is there? So many questions, so few answers….

Leave a Reply

