Hurricane Irene

August 27, 2011


Where have I been?  I was teaching in the Philadelphia area these last two weeks.  It rained a lot and I had to apologize to my students for bringing my Seattle weather with me.  They had flash floods there was so much rain.  In fact, on the last day of the Bead Fest show it was announced on the overhead speaker: There is a white Pontiac parked at XYZ parking area.  Please go and look at your car.  You may want to move it.  The water is rising.

Wow, that was weird.

Then even weirder, I was teaching at Potomac Beads in Phoenixville, PA and there was an earthquake.  Someone said: what is that?  I told them it was an earthquake, the rolling wave type, but they didn’t quite believe me.  I don’t think they realized that in Seattle we are experienced earthquake surfers… so I apologized for not only bringing my rain with me but also the earthquake.

My plane was delayed from taking off because of Hurricane Irene.  I was in a line up of about 15 or so planes trying to get out of Philadelphia.  We were told that there was no guarantee when we would actually take off.  We left late and i had 15 minutes to catch my connecting flight when we finally touched down in Chicago.  I ran and was one of the last 4 people on the plane.  WHEW!

I have some more stories for you, with pictures so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

