Bead Fest Philadelphia

June 14, 2011


Bead Fest Philly is August 19-21.  I can’t wait!  I love this event.  I always find a new tool, learn some new thing and see great art jewelry made by students and instructors alike.  This time my friend, Bea Grob, is coming from Switzerland and rooming with me.  We always end up taking one evening and making stuff.  In Tucson in Feb. we worked on resin jewelry in our hotel room.  I don’t know what we’ll pounce on this trip but I’ll try to remember to post some pictures afterwards.

Bea is creating a very cool mixed media retreat that will be in Bauma, Switzerland in 2012.   So far, wire jewelry artist Dale Cougar Armstrong  and I have signed up to teach and things are percolating!

Bauma is about 40 minutes from Zurich and is a lovely village of almost 6,000.  I fell in love with the charm and beauty of the place in every building, the river meandering on one side and the incredible second hand stores in the area.   It was the first time I had ever seen a train that makes no noise, (electric trains).  This should be a great event so stay tuned!

For more info about these places and events:

Bead Fest:  www.beadfest.com

Bauma, Switzerland:

http://en.db-city.com/Switzerland/Zurich/Pf%C3%A4ffikon/Bauma

Leave a Reply

