Hand Injured Artist Trying to Blog

November 30, 2010


Okay, I have missed posting since last week, I know.  I plead guilty there.  The obstacles have been snow, Thanksgiving and my hand/arm still recuperating and re-learning how to type…

Topics my artist friends have discussed lately include politics, knitting, economy, community projects/public art ideas and baking without wheat.  I often wonder what people talk about in other groups/special interest groups.  I admit that the knitting thing is a seasonal endeavor.  No one wants to knit in the summer.  I also admit that while not feeling well this last weekend I spent hours scouring http://www.ravelry.com for patterns to crochet – which I’m considering as part of my hand therapy to increase range of motion in my wrist.  I would like to be able to do the ‘Tiara Wave’ again someday- you know: wave no higher than your tiara side to side.  Can’t do that yet.  I’m also hoping that I might actually crochet something good to show for all of this rehab time with my hand.  So I’m working on a bag and dreaming of making a coat.

This recuperation thing takes a long time and my hand looks like a stuffed rubber glove after PT.  I’ve had PT three times a week for weeks.  Progress is there but it’s slow, slow, slow and painful.  I know it’s worth every bit of this if I have more function down the road.  More function to me would be no swelling up from use so that’s not happening yet.

So now for something completely different:  a guest on Craig Ferguson says about hand sanitizer, ‘it’s like spit and vodka’!  I know what he means!

One Response to “Hand Injured Artist Trying to Blog”

  1. marie s said

    Cheering you on from far away!!
    Rah Rah Rah!
    Love and hugs dear one.

Leave a Reply

