Clay Camp

May 19, 2010


The N.W. Polymer Clay Guild had their Clay Camp this last weekend.   What a blast.  My favorite thing about this event?  Laughing so hard that tears run down my face just about all weekend long.  How can you not love that?

This year we had one of our favorite people fly in from Nashville (NG!) and Julia Sober’s Mom flew in from Indiana.  One of our long time members returned from Arizona (snow bird!), just in time for camp.  It was wonderful to have so many fabulous, creative, people all together in one room working on a wild variety of stuff. The inspiration and ideas start popping or at the very least, the laughs are jam packed.

We had some classes this year that went very well, too.  I taught a couple of shorties on working with resin and making photopolymer plates.  Shorties are always fun because it’s just enough to learn how and I enjoy seeing what people do with their new skills.

Saturday night is always the highlight for shenanigans.  There is a brown bag gift exchange and a non-raffle drawing (is there really a difference?).  I won some lovely earrings, a kazoo and a great box that makes noises like a gag cushion.  I guess I was too obnoxious because someone took the kazoo away.  I went to bed Sat. night and left it at my work area and Sunday morning, it was gone…  darn it.   I suppose I can take a hint. =)

The camp went all out for me and our guest from Indiana.  They had wheat/gluten free alternatives for us for the spaghetti meal, rolls, desserts and stuff.  YAY Camp Huston!!!  It was truly excellent to be given great food and not feel left out at meals.

5 Responses to “Clay Camp”

  1. marie s said

    Oh how fun, I am jealous, I wish I could have been there.
    Tears running down my face from laughing is my favorite thing about it too!
    I am so glad you all had a great time. Picutres?

    • meredith11 said

      Oh Marie!! We so missed you. It was mentioned more than once that you weren’t there, how many times have you (and Howard) come to camp, remember when…? I DO have pictures – just have to download the camera. That is today’s goal!! xxoo Mer

  2. Jenn said

    I second Marie’s request for pictures. I was feeling very forlorn all weekend, missing my NWPCG fix.

    Stories are also good…

    Miss you TONS!

    xo

    • meredith11 said

      HEY JENN!! We missed you, too. In fact, it was mentioned more than a few times that you should have been there. =) I’ll post the pix for ya. Next year you are advised that they are required to come to camp. Last year was thin and this year, some of our key people weren’t there (HINT). It would be nice to have all of my favorite people in one place again… xxoo

Leave a Reply

