Video Inspirations for Artists

April 9, 2010


There is a very creatively talented artist working in video in Portland, OR.  Her name is Karen Landey and her beginnings in collage art are very apparent in her “video doodles” and the various shorts she has posted onto her video blog:

http://indieartsdvd.blogspot.com/

I am always inspired by the combination of music and imagery that she layers together to create complicated, deep and rich visuals.   There are pieces that I could watch for much longer but these little tasty treats are just what they are: visual and audio treats.  I watch one and I’m off to the studio to create my own treats!  I’m sure you’ll see what I mean…

Karen also has a non-video blog:   http://indieartvideo.wordpress.com/

This blog will give you an inside look at her creative process as she goes along.  This is really glorious eye candy for those that can appreciate really great collage.  Karen has an exquisite sense of layers and design that really comes through in her style.   I hope you have some time to check it out!  It’s all worth it!

Leave a Reply

