The Secret

March 19, 2010


“The secret to life is to have no fear”,  said Buddha.  I say that the secret to EVERYTHING is to have no fear.   Some people think this means it’s okay to be obnoxious or gives one a pass to be overtly annoying (like a salesperson), but that’s not what it means.

It isn’t necessarily being bold either though eventually you would have to be to get past your fear.  I say that we all feel some amount of fear about something in our lives.  Even me!  When I realize that it’s fear causing me stress, I stop myself.  Take a deep breath and remind myself that it’s just me getting in my own way again and it will all work out.  I had to do this last weekend when I realized that I had two classes to teach on the same day and would have to return to the first one to finish at the end of the day.  All the things in the back of my head started churning…I knew I could do it but I had to shut out the fears of not being able to do it first.  It turns out that was the hardest part of the whole day!

Fear holds you back.  That’s what keeps you from doing the things you really want to do – all those fears of  the ‘what if’.  Everything you’ve always wanted is on the other side of your fear. So what can you do to break through that fear and get to the other side?   How about don’t let it get in your way?   It’s the people that move through their fear (in spite of their fear) that get to that other side.  Could it be that simple?  Yup.  Is it easy?  Nope.

2 Responses to “The Secret”

  1. mariesegal said

    Get thee behind me fear!!! I am so done with you.
    Great post, Mer!!
    Love and huge hugs.

  2. Great, and brief, post, Meredith. Loved your line ‘Everything you want is on the other side of your fear.’ Implications of the true nature of fear arise from this statement, verrrry interesting and useful. Delightful to see you here in Santa Fe, too!

Leave a Reply

