Bead Fest Santa Fe

March 15, 2010


Prayer flags in the garden at the Buddhist Center, Santa Fe, New Mexico. (copyright Meredith Arnold, 2009)

It’s that time again and I’m off to Santa Fe.  New Mexico is one of my favorite places.  I always find something inspiring, mind expanding and deeply humbling there.  I love that.

I see that my class ‘Exploring Polymer Clay’ is full and has gone to wait listing.   My ‘Metal Etching Made Easy: Disc Bracelet’ class has a few slots left.  It’s all good and should be a lot of fun, as always.

Last year at this show I found the first pieces for my marionette necklace, which has been on my mind a lot lately.  It was the trip to Santa Fe that inspired this project entirely.  It’s time to get back to it and get that finished up after this trip.

"Waiting for Baumann" marionettes from Ligia Bouton's work exhibited at Santa Fe Museum last year.

Last March I posted some pix of my trip to Santa Fe:  the huge statue of Kuan Yin at the Buddhist Center in the sound sculpture garden, the prayer flags in the trees there, the sign for Bead Fest outside of the Santa Fe Convention Center…  It snowed on us that week last year. It was charming.  We’ll see what it does this time.

I’m thinking I should take Sharky on this trip.  He’s never been that far inland and I’m sure a shark in New Mexico would be a novelty.  =)

4 Responses to “Bead Fest Santa Fe”

  1. mariesegal said

    Be safe, travel well, and have a great time!

  2. meredith11 said

    Thanks Mur – It’s snowy here a little! BRRRR. They’re forecasting a couple inches Fri/Sat. so we’ll see how that goes. I’m teaching Friday night 5-8 so I hope it doesn’t get icy before then. xxooo M

  3. Have a wonderful time! I remember that marionette exhibit last year–how cool that it sparked a jewelry idea for you. Ideas are everywhere!

    • meredith11 said

      Hey Michelle,

      I’m so glad that I’m not the only one that saw that exhibit! Isn’t it fun that inspiration can be anything? It just depends on what hits you in the head. =)

Leave a Reply

