Behind the Artist

February 23, 2010


What is behind the successful artist?  I can tell you!  What you will find behind the picture of a successful artist is someone who works a lot, has a serious committment to and for their art and really wants to get it out there.  There isn’t some big lightening strike and viola, you’re a famous artist.  No magic wand…  I know,  I’m bursting your bubble aren’t I?  Well it’s true.   The sooner an artist realizes this, the sooner they get to where they want to be.

One of the things I used to tell myself all the time is “Be good at what you’re good at”.  It’s like the adage for writer’s: write about what you know.  But it’s true.  Artists that are creating good art work at what they’re good at, meaning they use what they know and what they’re good with.  As an artist I have always worked at strengthening my weak points because it’s a challenge and I want to be better.  If I needed to create some pieces for an exhibit, I wouldn’t exhibit pieces that weren’t solid work.   I know when a piece isn’t my best, I think…  =)

Something else you’ll find behind a successful artist is a good support network.  I can’t say enough about this one.  The more artists you know, the more work you’ll have, the better you’ll be because you’re surrounding yourself with inspiration and sometimes, challenge.   The feedback, comraderie and genuine support you can get from people that understand you and about being an artist is worth more than gold.   It’s worth the effort to get involved with other artists in some way.  Even if it’s just to regenerate your creative spirit!

Leave a Reply

