More About Aisle 7

February 14, 2010


Okay, so I see Jesus, St. Jude and all on Aisle 7.  My jaw is dropping.  They each have little name plates so you know who they are (maybe) but of course, I don’t know the stories behind some of these figures.  For example, St. Juan Diego.  I didn’t know there was such an icon so forgive my ignorance. I knew about the San Juan Islands here in the Pacific N.W. so maybe I could have had a clue…?

I was totally intrigued that you could buy these in the Food City grocery store.  On the one aisle are icons and on the other side there are condiments and pesticides.  I told my husband this and he said: “ahhh, icon on one side and D-con on the other.”  But then, he’s a one liner every minute.

The really baffling part for me was what appears to be Spiritual Spray.  YUP.  You read it right.  And it’s no joke though I would expect to see someSpritiual sprays found on Aisle 7.thing like this at Archie McPhee’s (www.mcphee.com), right next to the boxing Nuns.  But that is the culture I live in and not meant to be disrespectful to anyone.  It is only meant to cause laughter, not in ridicule, but in fun. There is a difference.

St. Michael's Spray as seen on Aisle 7.

St. Jude Thaddeus Spray.

Okay so back to the Spiritual Spray.  The can says: 100% Genuine St. Jude Thaddeus Spray.  HUH?  My first thought: how many St. Jude Thaddeus’ can you have that you must spray for them?  Then it dawns on me: maybe this is to ATTRACT the one St. Jude Thaddeus?  Wow, there’s a concept.  In spray form, no less.

So I surmised that Food City was aptly named because it covered Food in both the literal and the abstract sense.

4 Responses to “More About Aisle 7”

  1. Marie S said

    Oh this is so rich, only you would find this stuff.
    Can I put in an order, what about some St Anthony, I am always losing stuff.
    Happy Valentine’s day sweetie.
    I wub you!

    • meredith11 said

      =D You know, Mur, there is always an adventure of some sort just waiting around every corner and I am watching for them! They didn’t have any St. Anthony’s. I think it’s time to make up my own panel of Saints… I wub you, too. xxxoooo

  2. Syd said

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! You just can’t make this shit up!!!

Leave a Reply

