Oh the Life of an Artist

January 15, 2010


So what does the life of an artist look like?  Of course, it depends on the day and what’s going on but here’s a birds eye of my day.

When I got up, I had planned to work on a class that I have coming up and putting things away in the studio so I can work.  It’ s 8 p.m. and I have done some straightening up in the studio but here’s what happened:

I realized I had 9 different deadlines pending for varying things.  I spent an inordinate amount of time just trying to find all the details for each one so that I could prioritize them by dates due.  All the numbers kind of got to me.  Finally I figured out that the best way would be to just prioritize them by what I needed to do *today* and then next and next rather then list all the due dates.  I deal with dates and scheduling all day long for myself and also for ArtWorks so it can get a bit over the top sometimes trying to keep it all straight.

Okay, so I figured out that I have 3 things each day which is much simpler to look at then all 9 things at once.

What sorts of things come up like that?  Well, on the list was to submit info to the local arts bulletin, get next quarter’s class info to a college, a show, and another teaching venue, ship to things to Tucson in time for the show that’s coming up, proposals need to be put together for another teaching event that I teach at every year as well as a call for entry that I would like to submit for…and then there’s that class I need to prep for still.    Of course, I realize as I’m putting my proposals together for a show that my sample is on display at an exhibit in another city.  Now what?   And the studio still isn’t straightened.   Okay, that’s enough for this artist’s day!   And yet, I wouldn’t have it any other way.   =)

Leave a Reply

