Most Favorite iphone/ipod App

January 14, 2010


The Eiffel Tower 12 minutes ago.

My most favorite ipod Touch/iphone application is WorldView, an application that lets you see through webcams around the world.  Because of WorldView I saw a moment of the sunrise in Paris, nightfall in New York, the snowy streets in Dublin, Zurich, Berlin, Toulouse, and upstate New York.  It was snowing to beat the band in the motorway in Britain and Switzerland and today I have the idea that most of the world has snow (except here in Seattle!).

On New Year’s Eve, my husband was not feeling well and went to bed early.  I scoped out WorldView to see how the rest of the world was ushering in the New Year.  It was cool.  I caught the light show on the Eiffel Tower, fireworks at Brandenburg Gate in Berlin, the people gathered in Trafalgar Square in London – you get the idea.

Bern, Switzerland, 10 minutes ago. How cute is this?

I love to see what’s going on in different places even if it’s 2 hours or 4 minutes ago.  It’s interesting and unites me with the world in a way that even the internet doesn’t.  I can see how people are living every day in less then 5 minutes.  I check throughout the day to see what time it is in other parts of the world, what is the weather like, is it rush hour?  Speaking of which, I have used it to scope out the local webcams to avoid traffic trouble spots so it’s a timesaver, too!

If you don’t have an ipod Touch or iphone, you can see the webcam system at http://www.webcams.travel.  Check it out!

Koln, Germany 10 minutes ago.

2 Responses to “Most Favorite iphone/ipod App”

  1. Pörrö said

    Wow, sounds good. Gotta find if they have something similar for HTC hero too.

    Acutually I just wanted to tell that if they have Helsinki Finland that is my hometown. Welcome – virtually or concretically 😉

    • meredith11 said

      YES they have Helsinki and more Finnish cities all the time. It’s VERY snowy in your part of the world right now, Porro! Brrrrr, but pretty! Miss you darlin’. xxxoooo

Leave a Reply

