Getting What You Really Want, Part 5

January 5, 2010


It all begins with what you believe.

At one time in my life, I walked around thinking “Now what?” all the time.  I was looking for the next bad thing to happen in my life.  LOOKING for it.  So what happens when you look for it?  *It happens*.   Big surprise.  Someone pointed this out to me and at first I was defensive but once it sunk in, I got it.  It was like buying a new car: you see that same car wherever you go because unconciously you’re looking for it.

So work with your sub-concious mind.  It has a lot of power.   I learned this as a teenager.   As a teenager, my girlfriend and I were walking along the street, smoking, when her Dad’s car went by and stopped at the traffic light right by us.  I cupped my cigarette in my hand and put it out with my thumb.  No kidding.  The adrenaline was going and I wasn’t really thinking about what I was doing at the time.  I just knew that I didn’t want to get in trouble.  We stopped and talked to him briefly and it wasn’t until he was gone that I realized what I had done.  I was almost afraid to see the burn blister that I knew I must have.  Once I gently removed the soot and ash off my thumb: there was nothing.  Just nothing.  No burn, no singe not even a hint of having touched a burning thing at all.   It didn’t even hurt.  How could this be? I didn’t perceive being burned, so I wasn’t.

So when you’re making your plan for getting what you want start with what you believe.  Do you believe you can have what you want?  If you don’t, then you can’t.

Leave a Reply

