What Do You Really Want?

January 4, 2010


So start at the beginning – or the end, as it may be.  What is it you really want?  Is it something you’re afraid to admit?  Think about it for awhile.  Some people make lists, some people just know.   Often we really do know but bringing it out into the open is too scary.  Are you scared?  Of a thought?

One year I thought to myself:   I’m done working the 9 to 5 or 8 to 4, as it were.  I’m done with that.  If I don’t try to live a life surrounding my art, I will regret it.  Do I want to end my life knowing that I didn’t give myself a fair chance?  Will I live without any regrets if I don’t try?  My answer was no.  I could never really be happy denying my work.  So I set out to work, breathe and eat for and from art.

I can’t say that there haven’t been years of little money or feeling under utilized, because there have.  It isn’t easy to make your choice and follow your dream. It doesn’t make the entire world a rosier place, angels don’t come down out of the heavens and pave the way for you.  The street won’t suddenly be paved with gold but don’t let this discourage you. The flip side is a happier place to be, with a fuller and richer life.  The flip side is that it feels good to live and work.

Leave a Reply

