Creative Artistic Gifts

December 18, 2009


One of the snowman ornaments I made a few years ago.

This will be the first year that I have not made my Christmas gifts for everyone in years.  It’s been both a relief and something else:  I’m missing being busy with the making.  I don’t miss the deadline thing though.  That’s why I call myself a recovered Graphic Designer.  I hated deadlines although they do spur me on to greater things in my own work.  My hands are happy about it however.  Have I ever mentioned I have arthritis?  This is the year that I learned my wrist bones are bone on bone now.  I’m not old enough for this,  (or so I think).

Every year I make truffles.  They take no time at all but I haven’t made any yet this year. I am demonstrating them Dec. 18 at our Art Spa/Open Studio at ArtWorks, (www.artworks-edmonds.org).   Here is the invitation/reminder that I sent out:

Discover the art of truffles!

For those participating in Art Spa/Open Studio tomorrow: there will be a free recipe and live demonstration on how to make the award winning ‘Meredith’s Truffles’ at 12:30 p.m. and 1:30 p.m.   The truffle tasting of said truffles will be at 3 p.m.  There will be two flavors to try.  These truffles make wonderful gifts, (if you can keep yourself from eating them all).  Creative packaging options will also be shown.

Disclaimer:  Meredith will not be held responsible for anyone’s future disappointment in commercially made truffles after they have sampled Meredith’s Truffles.  Meredith has never bought another truffle because, as she says “they’re never as good so why bother?”

It’s Art Spa/Open Studio day tomorrow, $5 covers the entire day, your use of equipment (easels, etching press, etc.), and the special demo and truffle tasting!

Come on in, the art’s fine!

I call this the Snowman Convention, all of the ornaments I made together on my dining room table. They're so happy to be Snowmen!

Every Art Spa day we learn so many new things and everyone brings something different to work on.  This is one creative artistic gift to give. Why not create an Art Spa of your own?  Invite your friends and best art supplies!

Anyone interested in getting the truffle recipe can email me at  meredith@mereditharnold.com

Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

