Subterranean Art Fears

November 8, 2009


What is subterranean fear?   You know:  ‘I can’t seem to get into the studio’, ‘I can’t find what I need to do something’, etc.  This is all self sabotage and part of subterranean fear.  It’s so down deep that you don’t know it’s even there but it comes out in ways that don’t make sense.  Once you know that this is going on it’s a little easier to resolve.

When I found I couldn’t seem to get into the studio, I fooled myself into it.  If I planned to work on polymer clay the next day, I would go into the studio and prep my clay for the next day.  I would always leave it out on the table with the area ready so that the next day I could just walk in and go to work.  Hey it works!  I would look into the doorway of the studio, see all those colors ready to go and viola, I’m sitting down and doing something with it.

It’s one of those times that you have to go through the motions even if you don’t feel like it.  If you go through the motions, you find yourself doing the deed.   It ‘s like getting past the thoughts of beating yourself up because you didn’t paint today, didn’t take that walk today or whatever.   Over thinking a thing is a sign of fear.  Relax.  It will all work out.  I tell myself this all the time and it really does all work out.

 

Leave a Reply

