Gadgets: Kindle or Nook Ebook Reader?

October 28, 2009


As I’ve posted before: I am a gadget girl.  Point me at new technology and I want to know all about it, mess with it, own it…   I have loved the idea of the Kindle since it’s inception because it’s so much like the digital tablets they use on Star Trek.  How could anything be cooler then that?

The Kindle is thinner then a pencil.

The Kindle is thinner then a pencil.

Yes, I’ve been wanting one *except* for one thing:  it’s all black and white.   I’m not thrilled with a black and white device.  Been there, done that.  Remember when PDA’s were new?  They were all black and white.  I had a Psion for awhile.  That was a clam shell handheld that had it’s own keyboard.  It was a wonderful device.  Then Palm starting making PDA’s – in black and white.   As an artist this really irks me.  The world we live in is in color!  HELLLOOOOOOOOOoooooooo!

When Amazon came out with a new Kindle, I thought: at last, there will be color.  NOPE.  I know this game: each upgrade increases the price like crazy.  I don’t want to play that game.  Especially when I learned that you can’t replace the battery if it stops charging.  HUH?   If it’s anything like my rechargeable tooth brush, that’s a pretty poor use of judgement.  Why would I want to pay $299 for a device that I am going to have to…THROW AWAY?  WOT?  I may as well just use the money as fire starter for my next barbecue.

The up and coming Nook from Barnes and Noble.

The up and coming Nook from Barnes and Noble.

SO here comes an ebook reader from Barnes and Noble.  It’s called Nook.  It has some features that Kindle doesn’t have and vice versa.  At least there is some good competition for Kindle coming, (sorry I don’t think anything from Sony is worth mentioning).   Both the Kindle and the Nook are the same dimensions for the screen and overall size.  They differ in thinness.  The Kindle is about a third of an inch thick and the Nook is about half an inch thick.  Not a huge difference.  Weight-wise they are close, too.  Kindle: 10.2 oz.  Nook: 11.2 oz.

Both of these devices will play mp3 files and a variety of ebook formats though not all the same ones.   See the Barnes and Noble site for a great comparison chart on the features and differences of each.  It is refreshingly honest and shows advantages that Kindle has over the Nook and not just the other way round.

The advantages that the Nook has over the Kindle are:

1. replaceable battery

2. it has a color touch pad navigation area that functions like an iPhone using slide to scroll through titles.  Just touch your selection and it gets loaded for you.

3. expansion slot will take a micro SD card of unlimited size

4.  free content is available when using WiFi in any Barnes and Noble store

5.  it’s less expensive then the Kindle and is available on pre-order for $259.

The new Nook ebook reader from Barnes and Noble available soon.

The new Nook ebook reader from Barnes and Noble available soon.

One of the biggest advantages that the Kindle has over the Nook is the compatibility with Audible files.  In case you don’t know, Audible files are audible books and I love them.  Check out an earlier post about “A Girl Named Zippy” read by the author.

I’m not able to buy either device at this point but I’m watching to see what happens next.  I like the slick new features of the Nook and will be interested to see it in action when I go into a Barnes and Noble.  I think B&N is on the right track here and the consumers win out from the competition in this market.

3 Responses to “Gadgets: Kindle or Nook Ebook Reader?”

  1. Very informative post. I’ve found your site via Yahoo and I’m really glad about the information you provide in your articles. Btw your blogs layout is really messed up on the Chrome browser. Would be great if you could fix that. Anyhow keep up the good work!

    • meredith11 said

      Thanks for the comment, Laura. I’ll check into the issue with the Chrome browser. I was using it for awhile and didn’t have any problems but who knows. It might be the browser translation itself which in that case, I can do nothing about but we’ll see!
      I’m glad you’re finding the info helpful and hopefully, interesting! =)

  2. Color ebook reader for 200 clams? Yup…

    There’s a new Android-based e-reader on the block that is set to challenge the Kindle, iPad, Nook, et al in price, features, and display quality.For “display quality”, read “color”. Pandigital, a San Francisco Bay Area company known for its digita…

Leave a Reply

