Regrouping is Good

October 18, 2009


I just finished teaching my last class in the U.S. for the year until Jan. 16 when I start teaching again.

Resin Doodad Charm, a new class I'm teaching.

Resin Doodad Charm, a new class I'm teaching.

PHEW!  It’s been a really busy year.  In the last 28 weeks I have been scheduled to teach roughly 36 classes or so.  That’s at least 225 students if not more just going by an average number per class for the last 6 months.  I’ve had very few cancellations and also work the proverbial day job, (as the Director of ArtWorks in Edmonds, WA).   No wonder I’m tired!

Once I return from teaching in Switzerland, I hope to get everything re-organized for the next year.  I’m finding that some of my tools and supplies are out of place, hidden or unavailable after packing, unpacking and re-packing to teach different programs every week and it’s a little crazy making.   It’s time to regroup!  Regrouping is good!

I’m building in some “non-teaching time” into this next year though I’ve been booked up for Winter since a couple of months ago. It will be good to get in more studio time so I can meet demand.  Now THERE is a fun word!  Demand.  It’s a good thing but not if you can’t meet it.  Then it’s a scary thing.  I’m learning about that:

Every time my first appearance for the PBS show ‘Beads, Baubles and Jewels’ airs somewhere around the country, I get emails and requests from that city.  Recently it has been Texas and Chicago.  I love that people like my work and want it.  That is amazing/awesome/overwhelming/but wonderful to me.  Now I just have to get that work done!  YIKES!  Will I have time to regroup?

Resin bracelet detail.

Resin bracelet detail.

One Response to “Regrouping is Good”

  1. Marie S said

    “That is amazing/awesome/overwhelming/but wonderful to me.”
    I love that people want to stand and be in your light. I know I do and can not get enough.
    Love and hugs

Leave a Reply

