Wheat is Poison

October 15, 2009


So back to the food thing from yesterday.  I’ve learned that wheat is poison and one of the top 8 allergens for humans.   I’m talking straight wheat allergy here, not Celiac’s disease (gluten free needed for that).  People are confused because many with Celiac’s explain it simply as a wheat allergy, which it isn’t.  It’s a very dangerous condition where the least amount of gluten can permanently damage the intestinal track.  It’s just easier to explain it as a wheat allergy.

Me, I really have a wheat allergy.  That means I’m allergic to a protein found in wheat.   Here’s where everyone says: how do you eat???  Even soy sauce has wheat in it…

There are many great alternatives today and hopefully there will be more as time goes on.  In fact, I just finished the best store bought waffles I’ve ever had.  I should clarify that with: I’ve never had any store bought waffles in my entire life.  My family always ate everything made from scratch.  To this day, my Dad mixes his own waffles and pancakes.  He’s about to be 88,  so this store bought thing is pretty new to me.

Here in Seattle we have the Puget Consumers Co-op or PCC as they’ve become known.  PCC is organic, whole foods, bulk stuff and so on.  I found Nature Made waffles in the frozen section and they were marked gluten free which tells me they have no wheat in them.   I bought the corn based ones from the variety offered.  WOW! Are they ever good.  Lucky me!

Other wonderful stuff I’ve found:

Rudi’s Organic Spelt bread – spelt is an ancient form of wheat which I can eat but not all wheat allergic people can.  This is hands down the BEST bread ever.  It’s like ‘real’ bread.  It smells the same, tastes the same and the texture is THE SAME!  It’s wonderful.  I just love to smell it.

PCC Bakery’s Wheat Free Chocolate Chip Cookies, (verrrry dangerous these cookies – they call MY name!)

Rudi’s Organic Spelt Tortillas (they have light and dark)

Whole Foods Bakery Almond Scones (another dangerous thing, good thing they give me heartburn or I would eat these all the time)

When I found the Whole Food Bakery items I knew that I was going to live like a normal person. I was teaching in Santa Fe at the time.  It was like an omen to me.  Now over a year later since I stopped eating wheat the only time I really notice it is when I’m at a meeting or in a class and people bring things to eat to share.  If it’s cake, chocolate cake, that’s really hard for me to ignore but I know if I eat it, it’s poison.  Wheat is poison and I want to live.

9 Responses to “Wheat is Poison”

  1. marie s said

    I had a relapse last night. LOL!! Almost ODed on wheat!
    Needed to be reminded of why I don’t eat wheat again.
    Joints are so swollen I couldn’t get my ring off this morning. And my hands are not swollen, just the knuckles, ouch!
    Try Vans toaster waffles too. I love the blueberry and the apples and cinnamon ones the most!
    Great post Mer. If I would have had these in the house I probably wouldn’t have succumbed.
    I have been listening to a doctor that says the fall of the human society started when we started eating grains, all of them not just wheat!

  2. meredith11 said

    Wow! I can’t do that at all anymore. Be careful with that. It may just seem like one or two symptoms but once your body says it’s done, it will be more drastic. Swelling can be an indication of anaphylactic shock which is deadly. It means that the fluid in your blood vessels is seeping out into the surrounding tissues. This can leave insufficient volume in your blood vessels to hold the veins open. It’s called circulatory collapse and means death.
    When they triage allergic reactions a main one that is instant emergency is swelling anywhere on your head or face because your throat can close and that’s it. You’re done.
    Oh so cheerful here, eh? I wouldn’t mess with it. Your body is trying to tell you something and it’s important you listen.
    OH and I have Van’s waffles – buckwheat is yummy! Another one is Mega Sunrise waffles, Omega 3. They are unbelievable.
    I just found a new product, (cookie freak here) that are like Oreos but don’t use lard like Oreos do for the center (ICK – whose idea was it to eat solid fat with sugar?). It’s Glutino’s Chocolate Vanilla Creme cookies. The label reads like real food! Did you know that you can use Oreo cookies as fire starters? YUP. It’s true! They flame on really well and burn long enough to get wood going for a fire. Not as bad as that fluid stuff you put on charcoal to get it going either because the white part of Oreos are just lard and sugar.

  3. farie said

    I hate to say this, but spelt can be just as much of a “poison”.

    My mom uses spelt for almost all of her cooking. But lately, if I eat more than a bit of it, it gives me stomach cramps. Interstingly, I have no problem with wheat and white flour. I get most of my fibre from beans, lentils, and peas – these have more protein and iron anyway.

    Wheat isn’t always to blame. It’s the lack of variety – and overuse of hygiene – that cause allergies in our society.

    • meredith11 said

      It depends on your specific biological make-up as well. There are allergies that run in my family. I am lucky enough to be able to eat spelt but not the standard wheat flour.

  4. TMcLone said

    Wheat is definitely poison, but I don’t know why so many are focused on replacing it. I gave up bread, pasta, pizza, etc. when I started low-carbing, and I never went back. No grains AT ALL, NO refined sugar, and I’m feeling better than ever. I’m in my late 50s and while I’ll never be at my ballet dancer weight ever again, I’m pretty close. And I live on meat, veg, fruit, and fat. Haven’t seen a doctor in over 25 years, right around the time I gave up wheat! Now, if menopause would finally start, life would be perfect!

  5. Bleebalabba Numnutz said

    I just found this old article when I googled “wheat is poison.” After a couple very scary ambulance rides and some expensive tests I was diagnosed with Crohn’s in January. They have been giving me some worrisome drugs that cost more than my monthly income, yet the symptoms were getting worse and worse, the most intolerable one being chronic fatigue. Then later, it worsened into blurred vision along with all the typical symptoms of Crohn’s: excruciating gut pain, nausea, night sweats, etc.
    At the point I was sleeping over 16 hours a day (couldn’t stay awake more than 4 hours at a time) I tried an elimination diet and was simply amazed at what happened when I gave up wheat. All of my symptoms disappeared overnight. No exaggeration. I’ve gone back and forth and same results everytime: wheat makes the symptoms return, abstaining from wheat makes them go away, like a lightswitch!
    Obviously there’s something really wrong with the medical establishment when I can be diagnosed with Crohn’s, given ridiculously expensive drugs that don’t work, and then I completely cure myself by giving up wheat! What the hell is going on? My GI doesn’t believe me. But he’s got his head up his gastrointestinal tract if you ask me.

    • meredith11 said

      My own Dr had no clue what was wrong with me and she’s a good diagnostician. Allergies are such a specialized field that I can’t fault a GI doc for not understanding allergies. I can see how a GI doc is going to look specifically for a GI problem since that’s what they know best. But a general MD should have some sort of clue now. If it hadn’t been for Google, I wouldn’t have figured it out. Apparently a lot of Crohn’s, IBS and collitis diagnoses could well be an allergy to wheat. I just hope that word gets around so people like you and me feel better and live a healthy life!

  6. Kandik said

    My husband and I started eating wheat free about 3 months ago and feel amazing. I really wish the medical field would realize and look at wheat as a possibility in medical issues. My IBS is so much better and I have lost what you call some wheat belly. I’m not as tired and more clear minded. I will tell anybody who will want to listen, wheat free is the healthy and best diet for a long life.

Leave a Reply

