My New Work is Coming Along

October 13, 2009


If you’ve been following this blog at all you know that I am frantically trying to pull it all together for a show in Switzerland and a second gallery that has asked to carry my work, (but I dropped off what little I had at a first gallery).  The upshot of all that is I have new work  and I will have more new work as time goes on.  I’m very excited about the new pieces and what I have cooking in the near future for when I return from Europe, (now that I finally found my passport!).

New paper cloth collage lady pin

New paper cloth collage lady pin

The piece pictured here is a complete mixed medium work.  The body and face are paper & cloth collage with added sequins and glass seed beads.  There is polymer clay for the backing.  I’m very excited about these new pieces – I have 5 more that I’m working on right now.

I also have some new work that is focused around liquid polymer veneers that I’m *really* jazzed about.  Some of them have the veneers covered in resin, some don’t. I am also talking with a metalsmith for some signature bezels so I can make some polymer/sterling combination pieces.

Polymer and PMC bird pin.

Polymer and PMC bird pin.

Lastly, I saw the galley for the new book that I am one of the co-authors for.  I can’t tell you the title yet but it will be available before the Tucson Gem Show in February for sure.  It’s in the final correction phase which will be finished this week.  The book is beautiful.  There are a lot of projects using seed beads, wire and collaborative pieces.  Kathryn St. Martin and I each wrote PMC projects and Kathryn made a piece using a piece of one of my liquid polymer veneers that’s in the gallery portion of the book.

2 Responses to “My New Work is Coming Along”

  1. marie s said

    Your work is wonderful and life is beautiful and so are you!

  2. meredith11 said

    Thanks Mur,
    This was just the first one and now I see that even the second one is more refined (shoulders aren’t so broad for one!). The most recent two have been shipped off to Switzerland where they’ll meet me, I hope.
    Life is beautiful and you are, too! xxoo

Leave a Reply

