The Count Down is On!

October 9, 2009


Balancing while standing still...

Balancing while standing still...

I leave for Switzerland in about 3 weeks for a show and to teach.  Prioritizing has been difficult because it seems like everything needs to happen at once:

I need to find my passport.

I need to pack my class materials and see what sort of space it will all need.  Then figure out luggage for real.

I need to get stuff to one more gallery before I go.

I need to make sure I have enough stuff made for the show.

OKAY.  Do you ever feel like this?  It’s the stress that makes prioritizing hard.  First I always remind myself that I can only go in one direction at a time.  Second, I start counting backwards for what needs the most time to do.  So in this instance, it would be the passport that I need to deal with first.  Meantime, I will make things in the spare moments, any moment available, to build my inventory.  Next, I’ll see about the luggage thing, etc.

Breathe deep, sit up straight, and drop your shoulders.  Stretch and it will all look  just a little differently.  Remember?  Learning how to balance while standing still is a challenge.   Life is like Yoga that way. =)

4 Responses to “The Count Down is On!”

  1. marie s said

    But it is very exciting , yes??
    Have fun my dear and you will get it all done.

  2. marie s said

    Oh and don’t you feel like cleaning everything up too. That is what I do before I leave. I have many chances to clean when I am not going anywhere, why do I want to do it when I am getting ready to go?

  3. meredith11 said

    OMIGAWD, I thought it was just me! YES, I want to start cleaning everywhere and getting things done that I’ve been trying to get around to for months… What is up with that?

  4. marie s said

    I don’t know!!! I think I am under the illusion that when I come home it will all be clean and nice for me. Wrong!!
    The minute I dump the suitcase out it is a mess.
    Silly OCD!

Leave a Reply

