Sequins Are Like Classy Glitter Bling

September 26, 2009


Hologram, special shaped sequins

Hologram, special shaped sequins

Okay, I admit it: I love shiny, sparkly stuff.  I love looking at light refracting and have all of my life from the first rainbow that I ever saw to light bouncing out of my Mother’s wedding ring.   Who knew that it would become a full on obsession in later life?

Printed sequins!

Printed sequins!

My LP, (life partner or Long Playing album, I’m not sure which since both seem to apply), knows that when we come across anything hologrammy (new word!), in a store that he’ll find himself walking alone suddenly and I’m stuck back at the hologram, swaying and watching the colors change.  He’ll say: ‘Oh OH! She’s stuck’ and retrieve me…

In my, ahem, adult life this has manifested in my ridiculously extensive, (some would say), SEQUIN collection.  YUP.  I have a sequin collection.  I have thousands of sequins and can always find an excuse to believe I need to have more.   I put them on all sorts of things, too.  I sew them onto paper, canvas, fabric, felted stuff, beads, you name it.  Sequins are like classy glitter.

Paillette, aurora finish, large sequins.

Paillette, aurora finish, large sequins.

My favorite supplier is Cartwright’s.  It’s amazing what they have there (www.ccartwright.com).  They have hologram sequins, opaque, iridescent, and satin/matte sequins.  They have PRINTED sequins – think leopard, zebra, striped, and so on.  They have sequins in *different sizes*!

YES,  I have sequins in different sizes.  I have 2mm, 3mm, 4 mm and 6 mm sized sequins.  I know it sounds kooky but what if I NEED them at 3 in the morning and I find I don’t have what I need, like the night that I’m writing this post?

Sequins make me happy.  I find that they make other people happy, too:  Sequin Worship, is it wrong?

Animal print sequins.

Animal print sequins.

Iridescent sequins.

Iridescent sequins.

Gray iridescent sequins.

Gray iridescent sequins.

Leave a Reply

