The Studio Tour

September 24, 2009


WOW! What a great event the Edmonds Art Studio Tour is.  I enjoyed talking with people and telling them about my studio mate’s work, hearing their comments and answering their questions.  It was a great opportunity to see what catch’s the eye and see what people appreciate.

Sue Robertson, (www.suerobertson.net), graciously allowed me to be part of her studio.  I always enjoy being around Sue and I always learn something from her – something good that I personally need to know.  She says what she thinks, asks good questions and her observations are important to pay attention to.  I hear what she says and I have a lot of respect for her work.  There are many pieces of hers that I love, one of which I’ve never gotten out of my mind so I should have bought it.  I go to her website to see it periodically.  It’s called ‘Subtlety’ and I really love it.   I got to hang it in an exhibition at the Edmonds Conference Center when I curated the ‘Women in the Mix’ exhibit.  The picture of it on her website doesn’t do it justice.  It has a lot of light/interference bounce to it – stuff that I love – that can’t quite be captured nicely.

Did I make a lot of money in the tour?  Nope.  I pretty much broke even but you know, for a first time, this isn’t bad.   What I did get is a new gallery wanting my work.  That is worth more then a net gain to me at this point.  Having someone else selling my work is a dream coming true.  This is the direction I wanted to go so that I could justify more studio time and here it is. So now I will have two galleries that will be selling my stuff!  ZOWEE!  All in the same week.

I heard from someone today that told me they wished they had bought some of my work at the tour when they were there.  This tells me that my work is in their mind and they really liked it, much like I feel about that painting of Sue’s.  What a great compliment that is.   I would say that the studio tour was very successful for me!  I’m looking forward to next year.

THANKS Sue!  I don’t think I would have done it if you hadn’t put the thought into my head.

It was great to see some of my oldest friends come by, too.  What a treat!  They even hung out with me for a bit and that was really great.  Julie and I did a craft show together, years ago, so it was like old times.  I always like to hear what she’s up to. Julie is the #1 woman pinball player in the U.S. and #2 in the world!   How cool is that?
Getting to see Jory and Kerith is always a treasure to me and hearing how they and Julie are all into bowling and pinball cracked me up.   Bill and Gillian came by, too.  I appreciate each of them taking time out of their weekend to come see what I’m doing.  That was worth the price of admission!

2 Responses to “The Studio Tour”

  1. Sue Robertson said

    I am glad to hear that you love that painting. It is one of the very few pieces I have ever kept for myself. It hangs in my office. It was great having you here for the weekend.

  2. meredith11 said

    OH! I could have visited it and didn’t even know it! I’ll make a point of sneaking down to the office in Oct. then. I’m glad you still have it. That is an amazing painting.
    One last time: Thank YOU! It was so nice to be with you. Obviously I can’t thank you enough… =)

Leave a Reply

