Jonathan Talbot and Collage Thoughts

September 3, 2009


Jonathan Talbot conducts a workshop at ArtWorks in Edmonds, WA

Jonathan Talbot conducts a workshop at ArtWorks in Edmonds, WA

The workshop with Jonathan Talbot was wonderful.  I enjoyed the process and perspective that he teaches a lot.  I think my favorite part was on the second day when he showed his masking process to make collage.  The end result is a bit of a surprise because you lose the margins of the working area eventually.  It’s the ‘Happy Accident’/you couldn’t do this if you tried kind of thing.  It’s a fun process.

I also enjoyed sharing dinner with Jonathan each night and listening to the direction of the conversation.  The humor was easy and the topics far ranging.  This was real treasure for me.  You can’t devise memories like this, no matter how hard you try.  Imagine being able to have dinner with artists that have an amazing breadth of interests and knowledge along with well developed humor.  I can’t think of anything better.

My friend, Nan Robkin, and Jonathan are well matched in their interest and knowledge areas.  Both are hilarous as well.  This made for such rich dinner conversation that I hardly remember what we ate!

Anyway, I’m looking forward to creating more collages this way.  Some of the other students in the workshop will be coming to ArtWorks on Friday for Open Studio to work on collage.  The space is perfect to spread out the way you need to for this so I’m looking forward to it.  I’m hoping to join in, if I can.

Deb Taylor and Nan Weed (they're cousins!), two happy workshop attendees.

Deb Taylor and Nan Weed (they're cousins!), two happy workshop attendees.

Leave a Reply

