Jonathan Talbot at ArtWorks

August 29, 2009


WooHOOO!  I’m taking a two day workshop at ArtWorks with Jonathan Talbot tomorrow and Monday.  Don’t know Jonathan?  Ahhh, you’re missing out on a real character of art.  Or a real artist of character… okay, both!  See his website at http://www.talbot1.com

Jonathan Talbot is an artist from New York that happened upon a process for collage that allows for focusing in on design and composition without losing all that work when you go to adhere everything.  On top of that, he is quite a personality so there is an entertainment component to anything he presents.

He gave a free presentation a couple of nights ago at ArtWorks, part lecture, part demonstration of how he works.  The presentation was well attended and I think we were all entertained, to say the least.   A number of people expressed to me that they left the presentation feeling a freedom for their art that they had not felt before!  How cool is that?  I understand this though because Jonathan hit on a topic that a lot of my students ask me about: when does inspiration and use of imagery cross into copyright infringement or “how bad should I feel about the stuff I’m using?”, in a sense.   It was good to see how many classic artists copied each other for composition or specific design.  It was also good to be reminded that it has all been done before and there is a lot to learn from this.

Working with Jonathan has been a great experience and I can’t wait for our class to start.  I so rarely get to take a class,  (heck when am I NOT working?),  that I’m really looking forward to this on a number of different levels, but mostly because I will get to have two days to learn, soak it up and just make art!

Picture below: Collage by Jonathan Talbot, “An Intellectual Approach”, 1987,  4.75″ x 6.5″

One Response to “Jonathan Talbot at ArtWorks”

  1. Marie S said

    Oh do have a good time. I wish I could be there.
    Love and hugs.

Leave a Reply

