More Pictures of My Work

August 13, 2009


Peace Spirit

Peace Spirit

This is one of my doll pendants.   Some people think I’m crazy for making them and some people go crazy for them.  They’re definitely an either/or item.  I’ve heard from people that can’t stand them but there are those that love them (mostly other artists).  It’s really tricky to make the faces work properly and often it takes 20 or more to get one that works right.  The process can be maddening so I haven’t made many in the last year or two though I’m not done with them yet.

I think I heard from too many people at once that told me they were creeped out by them.  That was my last exhibition, last winter.   I think they’re fun and they are certainly meant to contain good feelings and for good reasons.  In fact,  I purposely make them pretty happy for the most part though the image transfer process can tend to make even happy faces result in a stern look.  I try not to use those.  Sometimes they come out contemplative and I do use those.

Angel Doll Face.

Angel Doll Face.


I thought that people were hard wired to respond to smiling but somehow, there are a  lot of people out there that find these creepy.

The first one I ever made was from a picture of my Dad when he was a baby.  He was so happy that it just made sense to make a pin out of him…

Baby Dad pin with curly hair.

Baby Dad pin with curly hair.


Doesn’t he look happy?  How could that creep you out?

They take a lot of time to make especially if I hand paint the fabric first.  The hardest part is getting the face.  If air bubbles show up in the face it can’t be used.  If the expression becomes less then pleasant, I can’t use it.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gotten an air bubble right in one eye somehow and it just ruins the whole thing.  So now when I make the image transfers, I make sure to do about 15 or so of the same face, the right size (which is another step to get right) so that I can make sure I get at least one that will work.

It can be a little discouraging to put so much time into something, sell if for less then it’s worth and then have a lot of people tell you that they’re just creeped out by your work.  Be nice to artists when you look at their work.  If you don’t like it, don’t tell them.

One Response to “More Pictures of My Work”

  1. I don’t think they’re creepy.

Leave a Reply

