Get a Handle on “It” Whatever “It” Is

July 17, 2009


Do you have some wish about something, anything?  Like do you wish you had more time?  More money? More space?  More excitement in your life?  More fun?

We spend an awful lot of time thinking about what we DON’T have and that doesn’t get us to what we want TO have at all.  In fact, it’s the wrong way to go entirely.  It just gets you more of what you don’t want.  Read on and see what I mean:

What if you thought more about what you do have?  What would happen?  Would you realize that you have a lot?  Have enough?  Have more then plenty?  Maybe you would see that you have so much that you decide you don’t need another thing?  Maybe thinking about all that you do have can either be liberating or confining,  (if you have too much!)?

When I was working in Tacoma last week I decided to look at it as a new experience that I was going to make positive no matter what.  So despite the crazy rush hour traffic on Friday afternoon, the same long drive three days in a row after working all day elsewhere, etc. I concentrated on other things like how beautiful the weather was, how good the music in my car, how I wanted a good parking place once I got to my destination and so on.  Interestingly, I was able to park right across the street all three days in a row.  Isn’t that wild?

Even if this version of positive thinking doesn’t account for the great luck on parking I have to say that it sure made my day a better quality one then if all I did was worry about the traffic, how it took me 45 minutes just to get through downtown (normally a 3 minute drive), worrying about the time, the parking, having to drive and other complaints.  It reinforced my perspective on choosing what my quality of life is by deciding it for myself no matter what.

So I encourage you to choose what your quality of life is every day.  Decide for yourself.  It is *your* life after all and every time you leave it up to the people or circumstances around you, you’re choosing to be at the mercy of everything outside of you instead.

Leave a Reply

