Something My Mother Told Me

June 24, 2009


    I remember something my Mother told me many years ago:  the look on people’s faces when they’re not thinking about anything particular  reveals their nature.   She pointed to someone whose mouth turned down when not really focused on anything.  I understood this and later I learned, it doesn’t hold true.  I know now that  genetics comes into play for how our faces settle when not emoting.  I understood that my Mother may have revealed more about herself by saying this to me then she was telling about others as she meant it to.   I often find that we tell more about ourselves then we want others to know in this way.

   One of the things that I love about artists is the nature of their curiosity and what inspires them.  The love of  those AHA! moments, heart touches, processes and doors.  YUP, doors.  Doors that open on new worlds, inspirations, ideas.  Doors that make our world expand.  Just plain doors.  Artists are always being inspired, seek it, wish it, dream it and breathe it.  I understand that. 

Marie Segal at Dulles Airport being inspired in a river of inspiration called Life.

Marie Segal at Dulles Airport being inspired in a river of inspiration called Life.

   Walking through Dulles airport my friend Marie and I saw amazing art: mosaics and even an interactive, giant, flat, screen t.v. wall. 
    In this hallway that looked like a river to me, I had to stop and take some pix.  The floor looks like water and actually what flows through there is people.  It was inspiring to me.  On the wall  were large light box posters, one of which had this beautiful young girl’s face.  It was arresting.   Marie had to take a picture of the picture.  So I took a picture of her in the river hallway as she took her shot.  Yeah, I was taking a picture of someone taking a picture of a picture. But it was an image that I have chosen not to forget just as Marie chose not to ever forget the image of the girl’s face.  See?  We’re artists, inspired by many things and always seeking inspiration in little and big ways.   Sometimes things we do or say are a door to our nature.  Sometimes there are doors that we don’t see even as we are passing through them. 
2 Responses to “Something My Mother Told Me”

  1. Cindy Pack said

    Beautifully written. Thank you for sharing this! 🙂

  2. meredith11 said

    Thank you Cindy! I’m glad that you enjoyed this – thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

