Shiver Me Infidels! Clay Camp was Fun!

May 21, 2009


View from the dining hall at Clay Camp

View from the dining hall at Clay Camp

    Clay Camp was a blast, as always.  What better way to leave distractions behind, experiment, play and really get some good work time and lifelong laughs while hanging with the cream of the crop?
   Some of the highlights include a gift my dear friend, Autumn, gave me:  Mad Libs, the Pirate version! Friday night we played “How to talk like a pirate” and N.G. (short for Nice Guy), came up with ‘infidels’ for a noun that left us with:  Shiver me infidels! HILARIOUS! He says he’ll never look at infidels quite the same way ever again. Autumn popped up with ‘killdeer’ for a noun so we had a ‘tri-cornered killdeer’ as the hat of choice in our pirate story.

Autumn's playing with doll hands she made at camp.

Autumn playing with doll hands she made at camp.

 

   We have so many goofy associations with camp now from so many years of quirky behavior ranging from peeps to pirates that it’s just funny to go to camp.  It’s all about artists breaking loose and having some great laughs. Who needs exercise when you laugh that hard?
Next up is a road trip to Canada this weekend. I am planning on finally getting to Maiwa on Granville Island. Maiwa (www.maiwa.com) carries hand carved wood textile stamps. These stamps are carved in India and they have lots of them. I have never been able to find them but I have it scoped out now. I’m hoping to add to my collection of these original stamps. I use them in my work with polymer and metal clays and fabric decorating. Maiwa also carries everything for the fabric/textile arts including silk paints, silk, tools, dyes, and more. I told my travel mates that they will have to plan on slouching about the Farmer’s Market while I’m in Maiwa because I will be taking my time!

My work area at camp. See my new Hello Kitty spritzer bottle? I got it in the brown bag gift exchange!

My work area at camp. See my new Hello Kitty spritzer bottle? I got it in the brown bag gift exchange!

Next week it’s off to West Virginia for the Polymer Clay Collaborative Mixed Media Retreat at Sheperdstown University. I’ll be teaching classes on Silk Beds and also Polymer Clay Bound Books. I’ll post on that later, of course.

Clay Camp 2009 group photo

Clay Camp 2009 group photo

3 Responses to “Shiver Me Infidels! Clay Camp was Fun!”

  1. Shiver me infidels… lol!!!
    but it makes it so hard to look at these pictures. I MISS YOU GUYS!!
    Had to search for a while for miss Jenn. She always does that!

  2. Ferinannnd said

    У автора очень приятный слог

  3. Jenn said

    Miss Jenn hide in a picture? Never….

    Clay Camp was a blast this year! I’m so glad I came. =)

Leave a Reply

