Blog Spam

August 6, 2008


Metal etched red brass and polymer clay beads

Metal etched red brass and polymer clay beads

 It’s come to my attention that there are Blog Spammers!  They fill up your blog with nonsense comments which take a lot of time to moderate.  I’ve been debating whether or not to turn the comments feature off.  Since there isn’t a lot of discussion going on or commentary in general, I might just do this to simplify things.

  It’s unfortunate that people out there are so desperate for attention that they’ll go to any lengths to get it.          

   Maybe someday they’ll find that there are better ways to garner attention and treat others.

6 Responses to “Blog Spam”

  1. Binky said

    What possible gain is there in someone spamming a blog? I don’t get it.
    Love your beads!

  2. meredith11 said

    Turns out that they use their name or post to advertise stuff. One of the spam comments is about 300 sentences long! Good grief…
    THANKS for the nice words re: my beads. =)

  3. Lunes said

    Please don’t turn the comments feature off. If you do then those of us genuinely interested wouldn’t be able to tell you how wonderful your work is!
    I love the etching – care to share your secret?
    Kylee

  4. meredith11 said

    I decided to moderate the comments and found 60 spam comments when I got back from last week from teaching in Philadelphia! UGH.
    Thanks Lunes – I always appreciate kind words about my work!
    I have written a booklet on metal etching, very comprehensive with all my tips and an easy read, that I sell on my website: http://www.mereditharnold.com if you’re interested.
    Etching is fun!

  5. Kathy Robinson said

    I love the brass/gold looking beads. You do a great job of finishing! I once had a room filled with polymer clay tools, then our house burned down. Now I start to do something and find I don’t have what I need. You know after awhile you’ve acumulated a lot of supplies. What did you use for the finishing?

    Thanks, Kathy

    • meredith11 said

      The metal is red brass and I hand polish it after etching the cut shapes. Then they are sealed so they won’t tarnish.
      I learned from Cynthia Toops that less is more when it comes to polymer. She usually only has a blade and a needle for tools!

Leave a Reply

