Presentation and Exhibiting

June 26, 2008


  In scouring the internet when researching, etc. I run across tons of resources and thought I would share them with you.  Of course, I was scouring instead of finishing up the studio (see my last post).  I do need to get back in there and get everything put away so I can get some new work made for an upcoming exhibit but you know, like most artists, I seem to function only with deadlines. I don’t like deadlines or thrive on them but if left to my own devices…well, I wouldn’t get anything done without them. Does this sound familiar to you?  You’re not alone!

This page offers ideas for Avery’s two sided, clean edged, business cards and Avery’s Design and Print Online.

  http://www.avery.com/AveryNextGen/url/Newsletter/Volume-9-Number-2/Featured-Articles?ic_campID=4&ic_pkw=Jun+BusCards

  There are also articles there on how to use mail merge for mailing lists, and make address labels as well as other stuff.

  As an artist, it’s important to be aware of how you present yourself and your work. As a gallery curator/coordinator, I see artist’s work, resumes, biographies, etc. all the time.  I can’t stress enough how important it is to pay attention to your presentation. I have seen artist’s bring their work for hanging without any way to hang it and even terribly dusty and dirty.  Typically a gallery will clean the glass of a framed work if needed but it’s not necessary to subject the gallery to your dust or expect them to produce shadow boxes for your 3 dimensional pieces. 

  As an exhibiting artist, I think I can safely say that the presentation of my work to a gallery is half the battle of getting my work into an exhibit.  I know they appreciate the thought I’ve put into trying to make their job easier so that looking at what I’m offering isn’t a big headache to them.  Consider approaching a gallery for an informational interview to hear their ideas on what they want to see in the way of artist submissions.  If you submit what they want to deal with, even if it costs you a little money, could be worth the long run.  It’s not so scary if you know you’re submitting what they’re asking for. 

  Just remember that it isn’t your work or you that is “rejected”.  Oftentimes, it’s that you may not fit what the gallery is looking for in terms of type of work at that time. Submit again at a later date and try again. If possible, set up a meeting with them to hear what they were looking for, their selection process and if they have any advice for you. I know this sounds bold but look at it as research for the business of your work.  If a gallery has the time to meet with you use it as a precious opportunity to learn the things you wouldn’t know otherwise. Don’t look at it as one more time to hear why you didn’t measure up – it isn’t always all about you!  You will be very surprised by what you learn.  =)

One Response to “Presentation and Exhibiting”

  1. Well said, Meredith. As a curator for a DVD magazine, I often see submissions that are so poorly presented, that I wonder if they even took the time to read information on the website to find out what the DVD was about and how to submit their artwork. There are so many artists that want to be published that sloppy submissions don’t get a second chance.

Leave a Reply

